Geo Lesson 2: Ponying to Lead Better

Geo is a 6 year old warmblood I purchased in December.  If you haven’t already, Check out “Geo Lesson 1: Desensitizing the Hind Legs

In the beginning, Geo would really drag along when being led.  I ponied him next to my stallion Cam in order to help him learn to come off the feel of the halter and find that active neutral in movement.  Using Cam presented more challenges to work through, as Geo was leery about coming up beside a stallion.  After a short time, Geo was starting to figure out how to keep the rope slack.

We are in no rush to ride!  I am really focusing on building a solid foundation for Geo, and that starts on the ground.

Watch and enjoy !

If you have a horse that you would like to re-start, take a look at Jonathan’s DVD series “The re-Start is Everything” available at http://www.jonathanfield.net

Do not attempt this with a stallion.

Video | This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Geo Lesson 2: Ponying to Lead Better

  1. Cathy Wentworth says:

    Hi,
    I’m new to your website, but I really like the short videos I’ve watched so far. I have a Norwegian Fjord who is now 23 years old. I recently had a bad fall when my horse tripped and fell all the way to the ground and I came off over his head fracturing my wrist. I had my first lesson back on my horse yesterday. I was wondering if Jonathan had any videos that dealt with riding after a fall and building my confidence again.
    I would love to be able to attend one of your clinics one day.
    Thank you,
    Cathy Wentworth

    • jfhorsemanship says:

      Hi Cathy,

      I am sorry to hear about your accident and I hope that you have made a full recovery! In terms of dvd’s that will help you build your confidence, I would recommend looking at Jonathan’s Natural Foundation Series, specifically DVD 1 & 2 both on the ground and while riding. Building your skills on the ground will help you to become a strong leader for your horse and will translate to what you ask while riding. DVD 1 on the riding series focuses on becoming a leader while riding, getting good control and focusing on safety. DVD 2 from the riding series focuses on both teaching you to ride with balance, posture and mobility, and also shows you how to develop your horse to also carry themselves in a more balanced, athletic way. You can purchase the DVD’s altogether, or as a set of 3 or 5. If you wanted to make a set of 5 , I would start with DVD 1, 2 and 3 on the Ground and DVD 1 and 2 from the riding series. You can purchase DVD’s online at http://www.jonathanfield.net or by calling me at 1-888-533-4353

      Hope that helps!
      Liz
      The Jonathan Field Horsemanship Team

We'd love to hear from you

